Crutched Friars Priory

Crutched Friars Priory was a religious house on the southeast corner of Hart Street (later called Crutched Friars) near the northwest corner of Woodroffe Lane. It was in Aldgate Ward and was founded by Raph Hosiar, and William Sabernes, about the yeare 1298 (Stow). The priory stood for nearly 250 years before it was dissolved on 12 November 1539 (Stow). After the dissolution, part of the land was given to Sir Thomas Wyatt to build Lumley House, and the priory’s hall was turned into a glass house wherein was made glasse of diuers sortes to drinke in (Stow). The glass house subsequently burned down on 4 September 1575 (Stow). In the eighteenth century, the land was occupied by the Navy Office and various warehouses (Harben).
Crutched Friars Priory, also called Crouched Friars or Crossed Friars, was not represented by a unique marker on the Agas map because it was dissolved before the map was made. It would have occupied a large area on and east of where Lumley House resides.

References