Legislative Assemblies of Alberta and Saskatchewan, 3 November 1903, Alberta and Saskatchewan Debates over Confederation with Canada.



Gets Down to Business With Little Delay.

Address in Reply to Speech Passed. —Premier Haultain Declares There is no Change in Position of Demand for Provincial Autonomy. — Had Pressed For It and Must Continue to Do So. — Time for Decentralisation of Work Had Arrived and Some Simple and Economical System of Rural Municipalities Must Be Provided. — The Territorial University. — The Game Ordinances.

TUESDAY, Nov. 3.
Dr. Patrick gave notice that on Friday next he will inquire of the Honourable the Commissioner of Public Works whether under date of 16th of June, 1903, he addressed from the Executive Council, Regina, to the Rt. Hon. Sir Wilfrid Laurier, G.C.M.G., Premier of Canada, a letter advising him among other things that he, the Hon. the Commissioner of Public Works, had "advised the federal members representing the Territories" that if the "general representations" made by the said federal members to his (Sir Wilfrid Laurier's Government) were adopted it would reasonably satisfy the general public in the Territories and would put his (Sir Wilfrid Laurier's) candidates in the coming election in a position in which they could "fight with zeal;" and if so,
(2) Whether the "general representations" referred to in the said letter as having been made by the federal members representing the Territories were such as may fairly be inferred from the general tenor of the speeches made on such of the federal representatives from the Territories as took part in the debate on the amendment to the motion to go into Committee of Supply made in the House of Commons on the 13th day of October last past; and,
(3) If such may not be fairly inferred what were the "general representations" referred to? and,
(4) What was meant by the reference in the said letter to provincial autonomy as an alternative, and,
(5) Whether the said letter was written and forwarded with the knowledge and consent of the Honorable Commissioner's colleagues on the Executive Council? and,
(6) Whether the general tenor of the letter was "strongly approved" over the signatures of Geo. W. Brown, L. Geo. De Veber, J. W. Woolf, W. T. Finlay, C. W. Fisher, A. D. McIntyre, Charles Fisher, A. S. Smith, P. Talbot, B. Prince, R. A. Wallace, J. A. Simpson, A. S. Rosenroll, Thos. MacNutt and Alex. C. Rutherford, members of this House?


Regina Leader, 1896-1904. Digitized by Google Books.



Selection of input documents and completion of metadata: Isabelle Carré-Hudson.

Personnes participantes: